LPA – Musical Response to Current Events – September 20, 1998

Lesbian Power Authority

KFAI – 90.3 / 106.7 FM Twin Cities
Host: Mev Miller

Show broadcast date: September 20, 1998

Rage Against the Prez!

This show was broadcast during the time when independent counsel Ken Starr was investigating President Bill Clinton’s relationship with Monica Lewinsky and other crimes. This show aired just before some of Clinton’s testimony was made public. At that time, there was also a banking crisis and other political and legal upheaval in the U.S. and the world. Rather than talk to much about it, this show provided a “musical rant” against all that was happening.

This was followed by a short peaceful set to get ready for the Fall Equinox.

Playlist includes:

Part 1 – 46:05


  • Laura Love – Bad Feeling
  • Joan Jett – You Gotta Problem
  • Dianne Farris – Reality
  • Melissa Etheridge – 2001
  • Sue Fink – Big Promise
  • Common Bond – Sinners Brigade
  • Janis Ian – Take No Prisoners
  • Phranc – Liar, Liar
  • Sweet Honey in the Rock – Ballad of the Broken Word
  • Casselberry & Dupree – No Perfect in ’em
  • Toshi Reagon – Justice


Part 2 – 40:35

  • Toshi Reagon – Justice (continued)
  • Lillian Allen – Revolution from the Beat
  • Pele Juju – We the People
  • Alive – Willing
  • Cheryl Wheeler – Fall comes to New England
  • Jaime Anderson – Harvest
  • Circle of Women – O’ She Will Bring
  • Tracy Chapman – Heaven’s Here on Earth



cease & desist







Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s